top of page

I Dreamt We Left This Place

When I first heard “A Beginning To An End” on Heath’s album I Dreamt We Left This Place, I was showering after a long day of homework, skateboarding, and typical quarantine stress. Instantly, I was transported into a world of ethereal sunshine, the journey starting merely with my ears.


The album description states “2020 emotions,” yet not one song on the album is made up of words. Though words are not spoken, every ounce of emotion is poured out through the music. This album truly defies the line between music and art. Heath’s album can only be described as a work of art.


All the tracks give off the same dream-esque energy, going beyond the norms of any music I’ve ever heard, all while able to make me feel right at home. This album is incredibly unique in nature, and its elements allow the piece to be free of boundaries and boxes that typically place music into its specific genres.

Due to its nature, this album is one of those that is incredibly versatile: it’s really hard not to love it. I can imagine myself cruising down the highway while listening to this, yet also just sitting in my room doing my math homework as it plays. There is no right or wrong time to hear it: it always works.


The title track on the album, “I Dreamt We Left This Place,” was my personal favorite as it held the power to both comfort me, and transport me to another place- one where I felt safe and warm, and filled with the power brought forth through music. It makes sense too, as the idea of lusting to be somewhere you’re not, and dreaming to belong somewhere else is portrayed in the title. The emotion of the song definitely fits what was expected effortlessly.


I also enjoyed “Free From All Sense Of Purpose” featuring Gambee. I can imagine myself being comforted with eternal sunshine in a state of total bliss as I hear this piece. You can hear notes of birds chirping in the distance, and comforting chimes that make you feel you are somewhere else entirely.

Overall, I Dreamt We Left This Place is the type of art that proves quarantine’s positive effects. In a time where people feel lost in isolation and a lack of routine, this album expresses many of the things we need most.

By: Taygan Kosky



161 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page