top of page

Interview with GRAE

Updated: Oct 20, 2020

We interviewed GRAE (@yourgirlgrae on insta) a indie pop solo artist based in Toronto. Her unique vocals and poetic lyrics are not one to be missed. Her new song ‘2725‘ is now out on all streaming platforms!

Strwbryjeanzine: Can you explain your creative song writing process?

GRAE: A song always stems from emotion, and then I have to sit down and think about how to put those emotions into words.  Whenever I’m in the studio, my producer will ask what I want to write about that day and then start creating something based upon the influences I have, or the mood I’m in. Then we start dissecting my emotions and putting them down on paper.  When I write alone, I usually grab my piano or guitar and start singing out anything that I’m feeling while voice recording myself, so I can go over it after, take bits / pieces and create the song. 

Strwbryjeanzine: At what age did you start making music? 


GRAE: I wrote my first song at age 10, I still have that song book to this day. 

Strwbryjeanzine: Who inspired you to start a music career?


GRAE: My dad inspired me, from the age of 10 he told me to live out my dreams and do what I wanted with my life. He has done nothing but supported me. He’s also an entrepreneur and such, so I’ve grown up seeing him live life on his own terms and being successful at it. 

In terms of musicians, Janet Jackson has always been a major influence. As well as Bill Withers, Prince, Robert Smith.  Strwbryjeanzine: Do you have a pre show ritual? (and elaborate :))  GRAE: It’s funny, I don’t really. I just like to sit there for a minute and be grateful for the opportunity to perform. I meditate a bit before hand. But I don’t do anything crazy! Maybe I will when shows start becoming a thing again ;) 

Strwbryjeanzine: If you could open for another artist, who would you choose? 

GRAE: Clairo or Beabadoobee!! 100% , or if I was ever super lucky, The Cure ;) Robert Smith is the love of my life lol. 

Strwbryjeanzine: What is the best advice you’ve been given?  GRAE:Not to care about what people think or say, stay in my own lane and create the life I want to live / makes me happy.  Strwbryjeanzine: Favorite song youve produced? GRAE: So far my favourite song is one that’s unreleased , it’s called ‘permanent maniac’ produced by Connor Seidel. Currently though, 2725 is my favourite song that’s out. Produced by Derek Hoffman 💛 I love my producers so much!! Haha  Strwbryjeanzine: What is you new single 2725 about?  GRAE: 2725 is about this guy I talked to online. I felt we had some kind of connection going on, and he was really lovely to talk to. I wanted to meet him pretty bad, so we could finally hang out and get to know each other & when thinking of a song idea, I decided to google the miles between us and 2725 came up :)  Strwbryjeanzine: How do you believe creatives should use their platform to spread awareness to important issues ?  GRAE:Sharing and educating themselves as well as their audience is important. If you’re going to spread awareness in important topics though, it’s very important that you take the time to look into yourself so you’re spreading valuable information.  Strwbryjeanzine: Are you a “big pants little shirt”, “little shirt little pant”, “big pant big shirt”, or “big shirt little pant” kind of girl?  GRAE: I’m definitely either big shirt little pants or big pants big shirt haha  Strwbryjeanzine: What genre(s) would you categorize your music as?  GRAE: Indie pop!  Strwbryjeanzine: If you would compare yourself to one pop culture, cartoon, or cinema character who would they be?  GRAE: I get told I remind people of a female Kurt Cobain ? Haha I don’t see it but it’s cool. Or Uma Thurman from Pulp Fiction, but I think it’s just the bangs 😝






33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page